Zum Inhalt springen

I have killed monsters in PacMan.

12. März 2009

There is a lot of talk in politics right now about limiting people’s access to media, claiming that people need to be protected from the dangerous effects of, for instance, computer games. I think that this is just another pretext to exert control over people’s information and communication habits. The problem are the guns. Not the games. Ever tried to kill someone with a game?

I created the first image and asked on Twitter whether anybody was going to join me in a testimonial campaign; Harald Eckmüller told me I could count him in and created a group pool on Flickr – add your message if you like.

I have killed monsters in PacMan.
But I have never killed a monster in real life.
Not because there are no monsters.
There are no guns. Not in my life.

You might also want to have a look at the discussion threads on the Flickr pool page.

My standard response to the argument „Guns do not kill. People do.“: Yes, that’s right and that is true with any technology. The a-bomb wouldn’t be fatal if it weren’t launched. The biggest tragedies have been caused by humans. Homo hominem lupus est. The point to bring across here is: You have games, you have guns. The possession of which do you think is lethal? Schäuble thinks it’s games, and I say: Can we talk about gun possession instead? Please? Guns are the real problem.

If I faced a monster and had a gun, would I pull it? Would I be able to tell whether it wants to kill me or not? Would I kill it first? Who knows? That’s why I am glad there are no guns. Not in my life.

EDIT: And the works were exhibited!

23 Kommentare leave one →
  1. 13. März 2009 12:05 am

    es lebe der Homo ludens! oder mit schiller: der Mensch ist da ganz Mensch wo er spielt. bei unshat er schon mal recht gehabt.

  2. 13. März 2009 10:36 am

    There are no guns in my life either – and I hope their will never be any brought into my life by anyone else.

    Nice example for #web #activism!
    http://epe.at/blog/2009/03/i-have-killed-monsters

  3. 13. März 2009 6:31 pm

    Super Sache Jana!
    Danke
    Sigrid

  4. 14. März 2009 12:34 pm

    One thing most people seem to miss as well is that guns are explicitly built to maim or kill beings. Games? Not so much.

  5. 14. März 2009 12:43 pm

    Exactly! It is actually so obvious, isn’t it?

  6. 14. März 2009 1:51 pm

    you’re absolutely right… but in my opinion, the main problem is also not the guns. at maischberger they said two days ago, there are ca. 7 million weapons in germany in private households. obviously, there are not 7 million killers around there.
    so the problem is, how can somebody get so lonely and confused that he wants to kill everyone around him? shouldn’t there be a place for every young person in every city, where he can go and find friends? but politicians do everything to shorten money for youth centres and schools… that’s, in my opinion, the main problem…
    of course, if people just had fists and no fire weapons, it also would be better.

  7. 14. März 2009 2:02 pm

    I definitely agree with you – the point we’re trying to make here is a response to the stance that _games_ are to blame. If you are going to blame a technology (both guns and ego shooters being technologies, the former a killing technology, the latter a gaming or entertainment technology), then it ought to be clear where the blame is to be put. but, yes, in the end, the problem is one with society, and guns are just one aspect of it.

  8. 16. März 2009 4:27 pm

    I’d like to contribute to this with a picture. How can I do that?

  9. 16. März 2009 4:51 pm

    If you already have a Flickr Account, join this group:

    My newest daughter Armorella :)

    Then add an image to it.
    If you don’t have a Flickr Account, contact me through http://tinyurl.com/herwig and I’ll upload it for you.
    Looking forward to your contribution!
    Best wishes
    Jana

  10. 16. März 2009 6:14 pm

    Super, hab’s über das Googleprofil geschickt. Danke dir! :>

    Beste Grüße, Kristin.

Trackbacks

  1. there are no guns | dChris.net
  2. neo2.org
  3. //epe/at/blog/ » I have killed monsters..
  4. Computerspiele töten keine Menschen! « DoBros
  5. Games do not kill. Guns do. | Wissen belastet
  6. Frogs don’t kill - guns do · Helge's Blog
  7. hintergründe | Herr Schrat - im Stadtwald
  8. Medien üben Medienkritik: Exempel Winnenden kaffeeSATZ #12 | JUKreiz - Lust auf Nachrichten
  9. Games don’t kill. Guns do. | iphones |
  10. Games don’t kill. Guns do. | applications |
  11. datenschmutz.net
  12. Games don’t kill – Präsentation am 15. Juni « digiom by jana herwig – ein studientagebuch auf dem weg zum doktorat
  13. Games don’t kill. Guns do. › VividVisions • information design

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar